Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

TREC Ireland

Tourism Related Equestrian Competitions Limited

 The Abbey Cup” 

Sponsored by Winfried Bastian the Abbey Cup is awarded to the leading rider of the competition year.

Bastian is a founding member of TREC Ireland. 

The cup is named after his mare Abbey Pierre who was a force to be reckoned with !

The league runs from October 1st to September 30th each year.



This competition is only open to TREC Ireland members. A rider, who is not a member on the day of a qualifying competition, 

will not receive any points.


Full three phase competitions and the MA/PTV Championships qualify for points towards the league.

Event notifications must confirm that the event is a league qualifier.


                Placing Points                                                                          Bonus Points

6th place            1                                              Level 1                                 0

5th place            2                                              Level 2                                 1

4th place            3                                              Level 2a &Level 3                2

3rd place            4                                              Level 4                                 3

2nd place           5                                             Individuals                             2

1st place            6                                              Attendance                           1

If there are less than 3 riders/pairs in a class, no bonus points will be awarded.

Only half of the placing points and bonus points are awarded for the MA/PTV Championships

The results of every qualifying competition and the league table will be published on the TREC Ireland website.

The Kaspyr Kup

Affiliated TREC Groups Team Perpetual Trophy 

Sponsored by Celie O Rahilly awarded to the best Affiliated Group team at the TREC Ireland Championships.

Rules 2023

  1. To be contested by a team of riders representing their group.  There would be a minimum of 3 riders, maximum of 4 per team.
  2. To be contested at the TREC Ireland Championships annually.  There must be a minimum of two teams competing for the Trophy on the day.
  3. All team members must be TREC Ireland members.
  4. A minimum of one of the team must have competed in at least one 'full' TREC event in 2022, i.e. all three phases of a one ore two day competition, prior to this competition. 
  5. The Affiliated Group must (if eligible in second year of existence) have paid their affiliation fee to TREC Ireland.
  6.  The team can be made up of riders at any level, e.g. all the same level or a mix.
  7. Entry fee per team: €15/€20 or €5 per rider.
  8. Entries, from the Group Secretary, with team details should be submitted on the official entry form by the closing date.
  9. Np rider can represent more than one Affiliated team.
  10. Each Affiliated Group can field as many teams as they wish.
  11. The highest three scores count.
  12. Bonus points will be awarded to riders as follows: Level 4: 30. Level 3 : 20. Level 2 : 10. Level 1 : 0. 
  13. Team riders must be permanently residing in the 32 counties.
  14. Entries to Diana O hUid. 

News & Blog

News & Blog

Spring Sunshine for Leinster TREC POR

Posted by TREC Ireland on March 24, 2015 at 9:00 PM


Leinster TREC had a beautiful summery day for their POR competition on Sunday 22nd March at the popular venue of Ballinagappa House Stables in Clane, Co Kildare. This was the first leg of the eagerly-anticipated annual Leinster TREC POR League and the organisers breathed a sigh of relief when the day dawned bright and sunny.


There was a phenomenal entry of 32 riders over three levels: 1, 2 and 2X.


The 2X riders started off with a bit of a shock in the maproom when their maps were taken and they were given bearings instructions. This brought them across the venue's lush pastures and thence on to quiet country lanes followed by forestry and bog tracks.


Levels 1 and 2 got to enjoy the picturesque lanes of the Ballinagappa area as well as the same forestry and bog tracks.


All riders returned with big smiles and full of enthusiasm for the next TREC competition. Huge thanks are due, as ever, to the organisers and volunteers.



Level 2x Pairs – 1, Monty’s Mason (Sheaffe Monteith) & Solo (Niamh O hUid); 2, Regal Ivy (Celia Taylor) & Ross ML (Caroline Aragane); 3, Zaristo (Sheila Fuller) & Pennie Black (Trish Young); 4, Surprise (Paula Donohoe) & Haise (Marie Gallagher).

Level 2 Pairs – 1, Callie (Lorna O’Neill) & Bubbes (Geraldine McGuinness); 2, Lady Jane (Sophie Sauveroche) & Cocky (Louise Parkhill); 3, Maggie (Liz Burbage) & Duke (Vicky McMullan).

Level 2 Individual - Zee (Tara Creighton).

Level 1 Pairs- 1, Apache (Suzanne O’Rourke) & Bronte (Natasha O’Rourke); equal 2, Ben (Margo Monaghan) & Harper (Aisling Noonan) and Frere Jacuqe (Margaret Lynch) & Fellowsfield Freelancer (Louise Parkes); equal 4, Merlin (Helen McCormack) & Caspian (Kayleigh McCormack) and Eddie (Danielle Herbert) & Santo (Una Mion); 6, Winnie (Anne Smyth) & Temple House Lady (Diarmuid Smyth).


Categories: P.O.R., Event Reviews & Results

Post a Comment


Oops, you forgot something.


The words you entered did not match the given text. Please try again.

You must be a member to comment on this page. Sign In or Register